City of Sanctuary - A part of Belfast now

17 January 2019

City of Sanctuary's 'A Part of Belfast Now' exhibition featuring the stories of 9 refugees and members of new communities in Belfast is currently touring libraries and Schools of Sanctuary around Belfast after its very successful launch by the Lord Mayor on 5 December. See photograph below from the very lively end of term Christmas party for ESOL students at Belfast Met which featured the exhibition (as well as food from all over the world and Sudanese dancing) and was attended by three of those featured in the exhibition.

City of Sanctuary

Each library and school event includes 2 speakers from among those featured in the exhibition and other refugees and newcomers and discussion.   The library events are public events open to all. If you are interested in attending any of these events the relevant times and dates are set out below. The exhibition will be in each library for the week in which the event takes place and copies of the booklet will be available at no cost.

  • Shankill Road Library,  Friday 18 January 11.30 to 1.00
  • Falls Road Library,  Friday 25 January  11.30 to 1.00
  • Finaghy Library,  Thursday 31 January 2.00 to 3.00
  • Cregagh Library, Wednesday 6 February 2.30 to 3.30
  • Woodstock Library, Wednesday 13 February 2.00 to 3.00
  • Tullycarnet Library, Thursday 21 February 7.00 to 8.00
  • Holywood Arches Library,  Thursday 28 February 2.00 to 3.00
  • Lisburn Road Library, Friday 8 March 2.30 to 3.30
  • Ormeau Road Library,  Tuesday 12 March 2.30 to 3.30
  • Chichester Library, Wednesday 20 March 10.30 to 11.30

Share this page: